Skip to main content
CEU Library, Central European University

Hungarian Historical Resources

Other Archival Resources

Digital Archives Portal

Digital Archives Portal

Hungarian Digital Archives serves the purpose of making accessible the digitized and born digital documents stored by the National Archives of Hungary and the Budapest City Archives. It also provides help to the research of paper-based documents, thanks to its digital research catalogues and aids.

Under News you will find up-to-date information concerning archival research and the events organized by or at the Archives (exhibitions, book launchings and conferences).


Under Search you will find the online search systems of the two institutions and the Federated Search system, which will run searches in both of these at the same time. It makes orientation possible in the online research catalogues and aids of both HDA and BCA at the same time, as well as the direct search of document-level descriptions and the digitized/born digital documents attached to these in some cases.

Under Services you will find online services to archival researchers and clients – these in most cases require preliminary online registration. Registered users can, among other things, submit questions and forms to the enquiries service of the respective institution, get registered in the archives, order documents and reproductions online. It is also possible to follow a research project (making queries of the submitted orders and requests) and to order documents and do research online (downloading digitized/born digital documents to a storage space).

The information under Records Management is primarily addressed to the institutions managing and keeping e-documents or required to submit documents for archival preservation. It contains the pertaining legislation, the compulsory or potential standards and other requirements for submitting e-documents to arhives (procedure protocols).

Please note that you can find a wide range of useful additional information concerning the use of archival search systems, the process of database building and the digitization of documents on the homepages of the National Archives of Hungary and the Budapest City Archives.

 

Fortepan
FortePan

An online photo archives. All of the images are licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY-SA-3.0 and can be freely used. If you wish to publish any of them, please give the credit in the following format: FOTO:FORTEPAN / name of donor.

 

EHM

Integrated database of EPA+HUMANUS+MATARKA 

HUMANUS is a bibliographic database. It aims to collect the bibliographic data of all essays and articles of periodicals, annuals, memorial volumes, and volume of essays that are related to Hungary in a broader sense: authors, topics, culture, etc. (as Hungarica defines).


MATARKA offers searching and browsing of the contents of scientific and technical journals mostly published in Hungary. Over 35 libraries, 30 editorial offices, and 8 private persons participate in the building of the database. Beside its basic functions, MATARKA offers links to the websites of periodicals, and includes links to the full texts of open access articles. It is also possible to order copies of articles from the National Széchényi Library. MATARKA has over half a million uses every year, and the amount of records is more than 2 million from 1,600 journal titles. Full text of about 500,000 articles can be accessed freely.

The Electronic Periodicals Archive & Database (EPA) -  is the initiative of the Hungarian Electronic Library (MEK) aimed at creating a bibliographic database and register of the Hungarian e-periodicals and providing hosting services to certain ongoing resources.
The main task of the EPA is to produce and maintain a centralized, well-organized, and searchable database of the metadata and access information of the Hungarian e-journals, and to promote the publication and distribution of these resources, with technical support and good practice standards, thus providing better access to this type of content.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, 1051, Nador utca 15, contactLibrary@ceu.edu, (36-1) 327-3099
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.