Skip to main content
CEU Library, Central European University

Using Zotero to Manage Your Research Sources

Link to this guide

About Zotero

Zotero

Zotero is an application that allows a researcher to create, organize and import references. You can cooperate with others, cite while you write, automatically format references in specific bibliographic styles, and create bibliographies.

It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Installing Zotero

You may download Zotero for Firefox, or Zotero Standalone. 

Zotero for Firefox | Zotero Standalone

Choose Zotero for Firefox if:

  • You use the Firefox browser
  • You prefer to have Zotero as a pane inside your browser instead of a separate window

Zotero for Firefox runs as a plugin for the Firefox web browser, not as a separate program.

The same version of Zotero for Firefox works on any computer that runs Firefox; there are no separate Windows and Mac versions.

Word processor plugins allow you to insert citations and bibliographies directly into your documents. Installing them is optional but highly recommended.

Go to the Word Processor Plugins page. Choose the most recent version of the plugins if you're installing Zotero for the first time.

 

Choose Zotero Standalone if:

  • You prefer Safari or Chrome to Firefox
  • You prefer to run Zotero in its own window instead of in the browser

Zotero Standalone (unlike Zotero for Firefox) runs as a separate program instead of part of your web browser.

It works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari.

Download and install Zotero Standalone just as you would any other program. You will also need to install the Connectors to allow your browser to save items to your Zotero library.

You can install both Zotero Standalone and Zotero for Firefox and use both on the same computer.

 

Learning more
For more details about which version to select, see "
What version should I choose?" in the Zotero installation guidelines.

Alternatives to Zotero

The CEU Library also provides support for Endnote and Mendeley. See Tools for Managing Your Bibliographies.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, 1051, Nador utca 15, library@ceu.edu, (36-1) 327-3099
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.