Skip to main content
CEU Library, Central European University

Using Zotero to Manage Your Research Sources

Creating Bibliographies

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Creating a bibliography while your write

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.

The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if they're not clearly labeled.

Adding additional styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style:

1. Open Zotero preferences.

2. Click Cite, then Styles, then the link Get additional styles.

3. Search for the name of the style you need.

4. Just click on the style and it will appear in Zotero's style lists.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, 1051, Nador utca 15, contactLibrary@ceu.edu, (36-1) 327-3099
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.