Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEU Library, Central European University

Database Search Tips

What are fields?

Bibliographic records/citations in library databases are comprised of fields containing specific pieces of bibliographic information. Common fields include:

  • author

  • title

  • journal title

  • abstract

  • publisher

  • date/ year of publication

  • subject/ descriptor

How database fields improve your search

  • Limiting your search to specific database fields can yield more precise results.

  • For instance, if you are looking for books by Hannah Arendt instead of about her, it is more efficient to limit your search to the author field.

  • To find various fields within a database, look for drop down boxes or menus to select the field you want to search.

  • Then combine words and fields together with boolean operators, depending on how precise you want to be. See this example from the Science Direct database.

  • If you do not choose a specific field, the database usually reverts to a keyword search, where your words will be searched throughout the bibliographic data of the article or the book.

  • If your keyword search retrieves too many records, try narrowing your search to retrieve a more manageable result.

  • Information overload - too many results - can be a worse situation than finding only 10 very relevant results.

Need help understanding fields? Contact us!

 

Example of fields

The record belows shows the field names on the left: Authors, Source, Document type, Subject Terms, Author-Supplied keywords, NAICS/Industry codes, Abstract.

 

 

   
CEU Library, Budapest, Vienna
contactLibrary@ceu.edu
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.