Topical & Regional Collections
Anarchist Film Archive
A collection of anarchist films from Christie Books in the UK.
Austrian Film Museum
This museum has several online films viewable on their website. See also their YouTube channel for more films.
Béla Balázs Studio Archive
The Béla Balázs Studio was born in 1959 as a grassroot initiative of young filmmakers engaged in the renewal of Hungarian cinematorgraphy. Includes films and stills from films.
British Pathé Newsreels (1910-2008)
Thousands of highlights from British Pathé and the Reuters historical collections of newsreels.
Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire
Over 6,000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by their academic research team.
Critical Commons
A public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
HiBROW: The Arts Online
Hundreds of professionally produced videos on the visual arts, cinema, music, literature, theatre, dance. For free and on demand.
Hungarian National Film Archive / Magyar Nemzeti Filmarchívum
Free films from the archive.
Lannan Foundation Videos
Lannan Foundation is an independent non-profit foundation located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It supports nonprofit organizations in the areas of contemporary visual art, literature, indigenous communities and cultural freedom. Their website contains 20 years of audio and video recordings from live events and interviews.
Northern Ireland Screen Digital Film Archive
Northern Ireland Screen's Digital Film Archive (DFA) is a free public access resource. It contains hundreds of hours of moving image titles, spanning from 1897 to the present day. Primarily focused on Northern Irish society, the collection also documents pre-Partition Ireland and contains material of interest to wider UK and international audiences.
Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
More than 300 films available for Internet viewing. Held in the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Many, but not all of these are freely available to view.
The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive - Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Over 600 films selected from the archive's thousands of items. Includes films on Jewish Communities, Holocaust and World War II, Pre-Statehood, State of Israel, Heritage, and The Hebrew University.
General Collections
Documentary Film on Vimeo
A place for Vimeo's documentaries including full documentaries, single chapters, or extended trailers, over 3 minutes in length.
EFG: European Film Gateway
The European Film Gateway is a web portal offering access to film and film-related treasures collected and preserved by over 30 European film archives. It is a search engine which offers you centralized access to digital collections dispersed on different national websites. Instead of having to visit the individual websites you can search through them via the EFG.
Europeana
Europeana shares and promotes European cultural heritage to be used and enjoyed by everyone. In addition to many other formats of materials, you can find videos here. To find them, search for your topic, and on the results screen filter "type of media" to video. Be sure to also use the "rights statement" filter to narrow your results to videos that are in the public domain or have a Creative Commons license.
EUscreen
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Free movies, films, and videos that have been contributed to the Internet Archive.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: Film & Video
Collections from the Library of Congress Digital Collections that include film and video. Performing arts, American history, social & business history, and many more topics.
National Film Board of Canada - Films from Foreign Countries
National Film Board of Canada - Indigenous Cinema
NFB's screening room features over 3,000 productions. It includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. They showcase films about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
Open Culture: Free Movies Online
1,150 free movies online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns; Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation.
TED Talks
More than 3,700 talks on technology, entertainment, design, business, science, and global issues.
More open video from around the world
For more sites with open video content, see the Film/AV Collections of FIAF Affiliates Online from the International Federation of Film Archives.