Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEU Library, Central European University

Using Zotero to Manage Your Research Sources

Contact

If you have any questions or problems, please contact Ivett Molnar (molnariv@ceu.edu).

Link to this guide

About Zotero

Zotero

Zotero is an application that allows a researcher to create, organize and import references. You can cooperate with others, cite while you write, automatically format references in specific bibliographic styles, and create bibliographies.

It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Watch this video to learn how Zotero can make your life easier.

 

Installing Zotero

1. Go to Zotero.org and click download.

2. Download the program for your operating system AND the browser extension.

3. Open Zotero and the browser for which you installed the extension.

The word processor plugins are bundled with Zotero and should be installed automatically for each installed word processor when you first start Zotero. If you have problems go to the Word Processor Plugins page.

Alternatives to Zotero

The CEU Library also provides support for Endnote and Mendeley. See Tools for Managing Your Bibliographies.

About Zotero

Photo by Karin DalzielWhat Zotero Does

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Installing Zotero

This video will show you how to get started.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, Vienna
contactLibrary@ceu.edu
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.