CEU Library, Central European University

News Guide: Current News

Remote Access


Are you off-campus? Most of these resources require use of the CEU VPN for full access.

Higher Education News and Book Reviews


Chronicle of Higher Education
- 1963 -present.

Jewish Review of Books - 2010 - present.

London Review of Books - 1979 - present.

New York Review of Books - 1963 - present.

Times Higher Education - 1994 - present. Register using your CEU email address ending @ceu.edu.

Times Literary Supplement (TLS) -  2012 - present.

News sources


Economist
- 1998 - present.

Financial Times - 2004  - present. Users must first activate their pass while on CEU network using their ceu.edu address, then they can access from anywhere, including via the app.

Middle East Report - 1979 - present.

New York Times  - 1851 -present. To access the Library’s subscription to the NYT, Activate your Pass  while on campus or via VPN, then get access from anywhere. You can also download your free NYT apps for unlimited access from your mobile devices.

The World Today - 2007- present

Current News Database Subscriptions


Business Source Complete
- full text of over 3,000 business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade and news publications.

Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis Academic) - full-text of many major national and regional newspapers. Video tutorial about searching in Nexis Uni.

PressReader - Current editions of 7000 international newspapers and magazines from 80+ countries in 39 languages in full-color, full-page format. Current three months only.

Search CEU's Holdings

To check if CEU has access to a newspaper, magazine, or journal search by title in CEU Library eJournals + eBooks AtoZ.

Specialized News Sites


Current Digest of the Russian Press
- A selection of Russian-language press materials, translated into English.  From 1949 to present.

Regional Business News - regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.

Westlaw Next - International Materials - comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

Newspaper Archives


Economist Historical Archive
  - 1843 - 2015.

Google Newspaper Archive - some of the newspapers date back to 18th century.

Times Digital Archive -  1785 - 2014.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, Vienna
contactLibrary@ceu.edu
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.