Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEU Library, Central European University

Medieval Resources Guide

Dictionaries & Corpora

ONP: Dictionary of Old Norse Prose

 

Anglo-Norman On-Line Hub

The Anglo-Norman On-Line Hub is a project of the Universities of Aberystwyth and Swansea and brings together on one website the Anglo-Norman dictionary and the text archive of Anglo-Norman Source Texts. The dictionary offers several search strategies, including a search for words by semantic and usage labels that would give you all recorded words related to, say, “brewing” or “monastic”.

Dictionary of Old Norse Prose 

Dictionary database of Old Norse prose managed by the Department of Nordic Studies and Linguistics at the University of Copenhagen. Browse by manuscript date and source. Records contain list of compounds, glossary and secondary literature. Corresponding pages from the text editions to each record provide textual and linguistic context of the keyword.

Epigraphic Database Heidelberg 

Here you find Latin and bilingual (Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire provided by the University of Heidelberg. Browse by inscription texts, descriptions of objects and geographic location.

Middle English Compendium

Searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage from the University of Michigan Library. Comprises access to an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary (MED), a bibliography of Middle English primary source texts, which are cited by the MED, and a searchable full-text corpus of Middle English prose and verse.

Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England (PASE)

Database of recorded inhabitants of England from late 6th to the late 11th century, based on written sources for the period.  

The Cult of Saints in Late Antiquity (CSLA) 

This online database of the surviving early evidence of cult of Christian saints emerged from the research project The Cult of Saints, based at the Faculty of History at the University of Oxford (2014—2018). The entries show both the source text in the original language and the English translation. Further you find contextual commentary as well as a bibliography for further reading with each entry in the database.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, Vienna
contactLibrary@ceu.edu
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.