Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEU Library, Central European University

Medieval Resources Guide

Other Guides

Mediaevum.de
 

Altnordistik – Old Norse Virtual Library

The virtual library on the website of Altnordistik (Old Norse studies), owned by Robert Nedoma, Professor for Old Norse at the University of Vienna, is a carefully curated compilation of mainly older, quotable resources within the field of Old Norse philology, Medieval studies and Germanic languages.

Harvard Library Resources for Medieval Art & Architecture

The resources guide for medieval art and architecture from the Harvard Library is a useful starting point and contains a comprehensive collation of various links to bibliographies, primary sources and dictionaries within Medieval studies. Additionally, you may click on individual guides that cover subjects from literature, manuscripts, architecture, women, music, history, archaeology and cartography.

Institute of Historical Research, School of Advanced Study, University of London 

The Institute of Historical Research in London has curated a resources guide for open and free access materials from Late Antiquity, Medieval and Early Modern periods. The guide is arranged by time periods and further orderly divided into subcategories (e.g. General Resources, Dictionaries, Bibliographical and Reference Works, Library, Archive and Museum Collections), which allow for an easy and precise search for resources.

Medieval Resources Guide, Library of Congress

The Medieval Resources Guide from the Library of Congress provides medieval materials relating to various topics of the Middle Ages, held in the Library of Congress. The guide is divided into print and electronic resources, further grouped into subscription databases (available on-site only) and external websites. In addition, the guide highlights the Rare Book and Special Collections Division that holds a notable collection of late medieval incunabula (approx. 8,000) – early books, printed between 1450 and 1501 – with digitized images available online.

Medieavum 

Extensive collation of online databases, digital text editions, dictionaries of medieval languages (Old High German, Middle High German, Old French, Old and Middle English, Latin, other Germanic languages). Lists current and completed research projects in the field of medieval studies. This internet portal is curated by medieval scholars from the University of Leipzig, University of Würzburg and University of Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Medieval Digital Resources

Curated guide by the Medieval Academy of America. The sources are vetted according to the Medieval Academy of America's Standards for web publication.

   
CEU Library, Budapest, Vienna
contactLibrary@ceu.edu
This website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License, unless otherwise noted.